Join Today

Bristol ERE journal

Hello from Bristol, UK.
    I found ere some time in the middle of last year and thought it was time to stop lurking!

I'm 28, male. a web developer by trade (php mostly) and a keen cyclist and martial artist, occasional rock climber.

I've spent the last few months getting myself back to positive networth, paying off some taxes from an old business and getting myself out of the overdraft. This is the first month I expect to be still in positive net before my salary comes in at the end of the month.

Yesterday I moved out of my city center flat into a room in a nice shared house a bit further out. There's a bit less space in my room, but more communal area and a garden. The rent is 390 including all bills, taxes and some (pretty slow) internet, which is a saving of roughly 200 a month.

This should accelerate me into actually having some savings for the first time ever, I was saving about 40% to clear my debts up to now, mostly by taking the money directly at the start of the month, and living within what i had left. No real tracking up to this point.

Monthly salary is 1,798.03 after tax etc. I’ve been in this job about 2 years now.

I've set up some spreadsheets to track my spending, so I'll try and post that up monthly.

As of yesterday, before the rent went out total net worth was 1603.68

Welcome to another Brit. I hope that this move works well for you and congratulations on digging yourself out from under the overdraft. Looking forward to hearing more about your plans.

Welcome. How's the PHP demand in bristol? Have you looked at what the average PHP developer salary is there, and how that compares to yours? Might be able to get some raises or apply at another company and get higher starting salary.

Seems like you could potentially get your savings rate up to 70%, curious what your other expenses are like. Are you in bicycling distance of work? Can you get your food expenses down to 100/mo or better?