Join Today

Rate/Balance My Taxable Porfolio

So it has been almost a year since I started taxable investing. Please take a look to see if my portfolio is balanced or too risky for my age. Currently I don't think it's very well balanced since I have significant exposure to crowd funding investments which is too new to tell.

Everything you see here are in my taxable account

1. Vanguard Financial ETF: 12k
    2. Vanguard Mid Cap Growth: 10k
    3. Vanguard S&P Small Cap: 6.2k
    4. Vanguard Total Stock Market: 16k

Muni Bonds
    1. Vanguard High Yield Tax Exempt Fund: 8k

Individual Stocks: 29k

Preferred Stocks: 7.5k

Crowd Funding
    1. Lending Club: 7.5k
    2. Peer Street: 72k

Risk Tolerance is High, tax bracket: 33%

Please let me know if there are alarming red flags to reduce unnecessary risk. I am new to investing myself. Spent the last 10 years letting the 401k do its own thing.

Risk is an incredibly personal decision and comfort level can be different for everyone, I think the most important thing is to stay the course once you have a plan, I have been investing in a taxable account for 5 years and recently increased my muni bond holding so my asset allocation looks like this at 36 (105 minus age in stock):

38% VTSAX Total US Stock
    31% VTIAX Total International Stock
    31% VWIUX Intermediate Term Tax Exempt Muni

I prefer having Total US Stock vs different large/mid/small funds for simplicity.

I like having International Stock weighting to its market percentage. If the Vanguard Total World fund was as cheap as its components I would have it instead.

I also prefer the intermediate term fund over the high yield because the principal shouldn't go down as much when interest rates rise.

I was previously at 120 minus age in stock.

It would be hard to say if this is out of line for your asset allocation for 3 reasons: