Join Today

Stocks and shares ISA - newbie

Hi all

I'm a newbie when it comes to savings so please go easy on me!

I'm in my late 20s, have a mortgage which I overpay each month, a decent workplace pension scheme and some money in a cash ISA for emergencies. In the next year or two I'd like to start investing for the long term in stocks and shares and understand that the best way to do this is via a stocks and shares ISA.

I guess my question is - how do I educate myself enough to get to a point where I fully understand what I'm investing in and why, enough so to enable me to make smart investment choices? I understand that there is always an element of risk, but having done some research over the past couple of days it seems a little overwhelming - so many different funds to choose from and no real indication of what is the most important qualities to look for when choosing (particularly as past performance doesn't give an indication of future performance).

Any initial advice/tips for a newbie please?

To be honest, you don’t need to be fully aware/up to speed with all the ins and outs of your investments. It’s better to understand the principles of investing and perhaps invest in a simple global tracker fund such as Vanguard LifeStrategy.

You will learn a lot as you get more experienced, sometimes there is only so much people can learn from reading and researching.

Vanguard LifeStrategy 20% - for the cautious investor
    “............................” 40% - for the medium cautious investor

I've started investing just a little bit into a tracker fund (around 50 a month) which is going quite well. I want to start paying more into it once I've moved into my first house (mortgage application done!). I'd be interested in any advice you get, because it will be helpful for me too.